>Milwaukee County Literary Organizations

Eindracht Literacy Society

From: The History of Milwaukee The Western Historical Company, Chicago A.T. Andreas Proprietor, 1881

This society was organized June 19, 1867. The first members were: John Wirth, Peter Martin, Paul Zinke, Henry Klumb, Carl Mueller, Ernst Ermer, Frederich Heineman, Gustav Baebenroth, George Reum. First officers: John Wirth, President; Geo. Reum, Vice President; Conrad Wirth, Secretary; Adam Finger, Financial Secretary; Felix Meisner, Treasurer. They moved from Meisner's Hall, on Chestnut street, to Bader's Hall, and from there to Ackermann's Hall, No. 913 Winnebago street. This society has a library of one hundred and fifty volumes. The present membership is ninety-two, with the following officers: Gottfried Herman, President; F. Gellner, Vice President; J. Wirth, Secretary; Julius Franke, Treasurer; R. Siegfried, Financial Secretary; R. Opitz, Librarian; Trustees: Charles Schwishelm, Louis Kaufmann, H. Bendinger. Regular meetings are held every second and fourth Thursday of each month.