Family Section

Biographies and Stories of People with Surnames starting with Letter K


Source: History of Vernon County, Wisconsin: together with sketches of its towns, villages and townships, educational, civil, military and political history; portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens; 1884.  pg. 545

Abraham Kauffman was born in Lancaster Co., Penn., Jan. 9, 1809, of poor, but honest parents. He received his education in the common schools, and was raised to agricultural pursuits. He was married, Nov. 25, 1828, to Eliza Martin. They remained in Lancaster county seven years, then started west to seek a home. They located in Posey county, where Mr. Kauffman learned the shoemakers trade. He remained there until 1844, then came to Wisconsin, settling in Washington county. He purchased government land, improved forty acres, and built a log cabin. In 1856 he sold out, and, again pushing to the frontier, came to Vernon Co., Wis., and purchased land on sections 10, 11 and 15, built a log house and immediately commenced to make improvements. He occupied this house until 1879, then erected the frame house in which he now lives. Mrs. Kauffman was born in Lancaster Co., Penn., Sept. 10, 1810. She died in Greenwood, in 1857, leaving four children—Starrett, Benjamin, Betsey and Annie. Mr. Kauffman was married April 13, 1859, to Colsina Ingerson, born in Caynga Co., N. Y., Dec. 3, 1807. Her first husband was Charles Townsend, of New York S'.ate, where Mrs. Townsend lived with her husband a few years, when .they moved to Ohio, and from thence to Indiana. Mr. Townsend died in 185(5, just a? he was rcad.> to move from Indiana to Wisconsin. He left three children—Emma A., Rachel ami May. Mr. Kauffman's son, Benjamin T., was born in Lancaster Co., Penn., Dec. 30,1835. He came to Wisconsin with his parents, and w s married in 18'8 to Jane Townsend. He now occupies a portion of tl>e old homestead, and is engaged in farming.


Source: The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of Wm. H. Froehlich, Secretary of State 1901. page 736 submitted to site by Tina Vickery



The senate is composed of thirty-three members, who hold office for four years and receive $500 each for their services at each regular session. Members of the senate, session of 1901, representing odd numbered districts, were elected In Their terms will end Jan. 1, 1903. Those representing even numbered districts were elected in 1900. Their terms will end Jan. 1, 1905. The lieutenant-governor, is president of the senate, but can vote only in case of a tie. A temporary president, to act in the absence of the president, is chosen by the members the senate. The senate of 1901 contains 31 Republicans and 2 Democrats. Lieutenant-Governor Jesse Stone, president; James J. McGillivray, president pro tem.; Walter L. Houser, chief clerk; C. A. Pettibone, sergeant-at-arms.

TWENTY-FIFTH SENATORIAL DISTRICT. Clark and Marathon counties. Population, 1900 - 69,104.

ANDREW L. KREUTZER (Rep.), of Wausau, Marathon county, was born in 1863, in Germantown, Washington county, and received his education in the common schools and the Law Department of the University of Wisconsin. He is a member of the law firm of Bump, Kreutzer & Rosenberry. He was elected district attorney of Marathon county in 1894, and was re-elected to the same office in 1896. He was appointed by Gov. Upham a commissioner to the Atlanta Exposition in 1895; was appointed on Gov. Scofield's staff with the rank of colonel, and was the acting judge advocate general of the Wisconsin National Guard during the years 1897-8. He was elected to the senate In 1898, receiving 5,314 votes, against 3,708 for R. B. Salter (Dem.).


Source: The Blue Book of the State of Wisconsin Compiled and Published under the direction of J. D. Beck, Commissioner of Labor and Industrial Statistics 1907. The Wisconsin Blue Book. VII. Biographical Sketches. The Wisconsin Legislature. Assembly, p. 1139 Contributed to this site by Lori Niemuth

HERMAN L. KERN, Speaker; C. E. SHAFFER, Chief Clerk; W. S. IRVINE, Sergeant-at-Arms.

The assembly consists of 100 members. They are chosen biennially and receive $500 for their services during their term. The speaker is chosen by the members and receives an additional $500 for his services as speaker. The assembly of 1907 contains 76 republicans, 19 democrats, and 5 social democrats.

Shawano County. (p. 1171) One District. Population, 1900 - 27,475.

ANTONE KUCKUK (Rep.) was born at Schleisingerville, Washington county, Wis., Feb. 10, 1863. Attended public and parochial schools until 13 years of age. Was employed for two years in hotel at Hartford, Wis.; six years as clerk in a store at Wausau and Shawano; for twenty-one years has been engaged in jewelry and music business at Shawano; has been several years a member of the Shawano county board and of the school board of Shawano. Was delegate to state convention in 1900. Nominated in 906 for assembly without opposition and elected, receiving 1,675 votes against 916 votes for Frank A. Wolf (Dem.).